Dogan Middle School students receive Girl Scout Silver Award

September 23, 2016


Tiarra Green, Lexy Martinez, and Samaja Williams from Dogan Middle School have earned the Girl Scout Silver Award, the highest award middle school Girl Scout Cadettes can earn. Also receiving the honor is former Dogan student Andrea Ellis, who is now a freshman at John Tyler High School. 


To receive the Silver Award, Girl Scout Cadettes must spend at least 50 service hours designing and implementing a project, either as a team or individually, that has a sustainable impact on the community. Tiarra, Lexy, Samaja and Andrea chose to create a brochure for new students at Dogan Middle School to help answer questions the students may have about school routines, procedures, activities and more.


“We all remember being so nervous when we started at Dogan and wondering who could help us with our questions,” Lexy said. “So when we were thinking about this project, we thought a brochure may help students who have the same types of questions.”


The brochure is located in the counselor’s office and is available to all new students. The Dogan leadership team also includes the brochure in the orientation packets for incoming sixth graders.


“We are so proud of these girls,” Dogan Principal Vanessa Holmes said. “Through this brochure, they are helping students not only by answering questions, but also by showing the importance of doing well in school and working hard to achieve goals.”


Last year, two students from Boulter Middle School earned the Silver Award. The program is made possible through the Girl Scouting in the School Day program, a specialized series providing age-appropriate group mentoring to students during their usual class day.


Pictured: Girl Scouts representative Rosia Harmon presents Girl Scout Cadettes Lexy Martinez, Samaja Williams and Tiarra Green with a Silver Award certificate and Silver Award pin during a ceremony Friday morning at Dogan Middle School. Not pictured: Andrea Ellis.

Please reload

Please reload

Tyler ISD Communications

Jennifer Hines

Executive Director of Communications and Public Relations

Sandra Stanley.jpg

Sandra Stanley Communications Coordinator

Amy Pawlak.jpg

Amy Pawlak 

Public Relations Coordinator

Lynne Hubbard

Switchboard Operator

Marla Boone

Communications/ Volunteer Assistant

Angela Duitch

Coordinator of TISD-TV & Digital Media

Jessica Poe

Digital Communications Specialist

Jacob Walker

Digital Media and Video Specialist

John Landes

Coordinator of Government Relations

Tracy Varnell

District Mail Clerk

© 2016 Tyler Independent School District