Tyler ISD Recognizes student, staff achievements during Oct. board meeting

October 21, 2016


The Tyler ISD Board of Trustees recognized the achievements of students and staff during its regularly scheduled meeting Monday, Oct. 17. The primary focus of the Tyler ISD Board Recognition Program is to acknowledge accomplishments of District students, staff, departments and campuses.


The Board first recognized the efforts of the two District students of the month for October.  The elementary student of the month is Luke Anderson, a fifth grade student at Caldwell Elementary. The secondary Student of the Month is Hannia Gonzalez, a twelfth grade student at John Tyler High School. The above video highlights these two outstanding students.

Robert E. Lee High School students Mary Claire Neal and Kushan Gupta were recognized for honors recieved through the National Merit Scholarship Program.  Ms. Neal has been named 2017 National Merit Scholar Semifinalist and Mr. Gupta has been named 2017 National Merit Commended Scholar. 

The Tyler ISD October Teacher of the Month is Josh Loeffler, a teacher at Robert E. Lee High School.  Mr. Loeffler teaches freshman intervention, Pre-Ap, and IB classes. 


Texas Governor Greg Abbott has proclaimed October 2016 as “Principals Month” in Texas.  In honor of our principals and assistant principals, the State of Texas is recognizing the elementary and secondary school administrators. School leadership is vital to the success of all students and Tyler ISD is proud to honor our secondary and elementary school principals this month.

Please reload

Please reload

Tyler ISD Communications

Jennifer Hines

Executive Director of Communications and Public Relations

Sandra Stanley.jpg

Sandra Stanley Communications Coordinator

Amy Pawlak.jpg

Amy Pawlak 

Public Relations Coordinator

Lynne Hubbard

Switchboard Operator

Marla Boone

Communications/ Volunteer Assistant

Angela Duitch

Coordinator of TISD-TV & Digital Media

Jessica Poe

Digital Communications Specialist

Jacob Walker

Digital Media and Video Specialist

John Landes

Coordinator of Government Relations

Tracy Varnell

District Mail Clerk

© 2016 Tyler Independent School District