Principal for a Day event welcomes business, civic leaders

October 31, 2016



Tyler ISD and the Tyler Area Business Education Council will host the 2016 Principal for a Day event Tuesday, Nov. 1, welcoming local business and civic leaders to serve as guest principals for the day.


Guest principals will receive a behind-the-scenes look at the local school system while also having the opportunity to shadow the principal, meet with students and faculty, attend student assemblies, and participate in other activities that make up the school day. All principals, guest principals and District leadership will then meet for lunch and reflection in the Davidson Conference Room at the Plyler Instructional Complex.


Participating businesses and organizations include BCFS, Brookshire’s Grocery Company, Capstone College Advising, Centene, City of Tyler, Cooperative Teachers Credit Union, East Texas Professional Credit Union, FRESH, Hispanic Business Alliance, Mentoring Alliance, Mentoring Minds, NETHealth, Suddenlink, Super 1 Foods, Texas Bank & Trust, Tyler Junior College, Tyler Pipe, United Way of Smith County, UT Tyler, Walmart and Work Force Solutions East Texas Board.


“We look forward to this event every year,” Tyler ISD Superintendent Dr. Marty Crawford said. “Principal for a Day helps build strong, sustainable relationships with our community partners, and we continue to see positive results of these partnerships which ultimately benefit our students.”

Please reload

Please reload

Tyler ISD Communications

Jennifer Hines

Executive Director of Communications and Public Relations

Sandra Stanley.jpg

Sandra Stanley Communications Coordinator

Amy Pawlak.jpg

Amy Pawlak 

Public Relations Coordinator

Lynne Hubbard

Switchboard Operator

Marla Boone

Communications/ Volunteer Assistant

Angela Duitch

Coordinator of TISD-TV & Digital Media

Jessica Poe

Digital Communications Specialist

Jacob Walker

Digital Media and Video Specialist

John Landes

Coordinator of Government Relations

Tracy Varnell

District Mail Clerk

© 2016 Tyler Independent School District