Dr. Crawford discusses 'State of the District' at Chamber luncheon

November 17, 2016



Tyler ISD Superintendent Dr. Marty Crawford delivered the State of the District update at the Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce luncheon held recently at the Tyler Rose Garden Center.


Dr. Crawford discussed District achievements, such as receiving Unitary Status from the federal government, and positive state accountability results for 2016. He also discussed that students benefit every day from outstanding learning facilities resulting from BOND 2013 and that the District is evaluating construction needs to better accommodate current and future students of Tyler ISD.


Dr. Crawford thanked community partners for the incredible work they do every day in Tyler ISD schools and urged the community to continue working together to strengthen education in East Texas. He highlighted notable community partners such as The Mentoring Alliance, Boys and Girls Clubs of East Texas, Mayor’s Mentorship Achievement Program and Rose City Summer Camps.


Tyler ISD joined the Tyler Area Business Education Council to present the 2016 Community Partner of the Year Award to the Cooperative Teachers Credit Union (CTCU). CTCU sponsors a variety of district events, including the Teacher of the Year Banquet, and many campus events throughout the school year.

Additionally, Mayor Martin Heines was named the 2016 Distinguished Alumni by Tyler ISD, the Tyler ISD Foundation and the Tyler Area Business Education Council. Mayor Heines attended Andy Woods Elementary School, Hubbard Middle School and Robert E. Lee High School.

Please reload

Please reload

Tyler ISD Communications

Jennifer Hines

Executive Director of Communications and Public Relations

Sandra Stanley.jpg

Sandra Stanley Communications Coordinator

Amy Pawlak.jpg

Amy Pawlak 

Public Relations Coordinator

Lynne Hubbard

Switchboard Operator

Marla Boone

Communications/ Volunteer Assistant

Angela Duitch

Coordinator of TISD-TV & Digital Media

Jessica Poe

Digital Communications Specialist

Jacob Walker

Digital Media and Video Specialist

John Landes

Coordinator of Government Relations

Tracy Varnell

District Mail Clerk

© 2016 Tyler Independent School District