Tyler ISD students secure postsecondary education through Tyler TJC Promise scholarship

December 7, 2016


The future for 192 Tyler ISD ninth grade students became much brighter recently as they joined the Tyler TJC Promise scholarship program. The students attended a special signing ceremony where they pledged to meet various academic, attendance and community service criteria while in high school. By doing so, students earn two years of education tuition free at Tyler Junior College after their high school graduation.


“This is an amazing opportunity for Tyler ISD students setting goals for college readiness and planning for success after high school,” Leigh Anne Barber, Tyler ISD director of guidance and counseling said. “We are so proud of them all for taking this important step for their future.”


At the signing event held Dec. 6 in Wise Auditorium at TJC, students and their parents/guardians heard remarks from Tyler ISD Superintendent Dr. Marty Crawford and TJC President Dr. Mike Metke, who both praised the program and described its importance to students, families and the Tyler community.


“We are extremely grateful to our partners at Tyler Junior College for providing this incredible opportunity,” Superintendent Dr. Marty Crawford said. “The Tyler TJC Promise scholarship will provide a high quality education to our students while also helping reinforce a college-going culture for students in the future.”


The Tyler TJC Promise scholarship program was established in honor of TJC’s 90th Anniversary. The purpose of the program is to partner with our East Texas communities to build a stronger college-going culture, while successfully preparing students to achieve their educational goals, resulting in graduates ready to enter the 21st century workforce and become productive members of society. For more information, visit www.tjc.edu/promise.


Please reload

Please reload

Tyler ISD Communications

Jennifer Hines

Executive Director of Communications and Public Relations

Sandra Stanley.jpg

Sandra Stanley Communications Coordinator

Amy Pawlak.jpg

Amy Pawlak 

Public Relations Coordinator

Lynne Hubbard

Switchboard Operator

Marla Boone

Communications/ Volunteer Assistant

Angela Duitch

Coordinator of TISD-TV & Digital Media

Jessica Poe

Digital Communications Specialist

Jacob Walker

Digital Media and Video Specialist

John Landes

Coordinator of Government Relations

Tracy Varnell

District Mail Clerk

© 2016 Tyler Independent School District