John Tyler High School principal receives honor from NABSE

December 9, 2016


John Tyler High School Principal Dr. Kenneth Gay was named the National Principal of the Year by the National Alliance of Black School Educators (NABSE) 2016-2017. He received the honor during the 44th national conference held in Tampa, Florida.  Dr. Gay was selected amongst a strong pool of principal candidates across the entire country. The NABSE Principal of the Year Award is bestowed upon a principal who has demonstrated outstanding leadership skills that has led to a greater sense of student, teaching staff and parental community support. 


Under Dr. Gay’s leadership, John Tyler High School has “Met Standard” on the Texas Assessment of Academic Readiness (STAAR) the past three years. The campus was also recently named National PTA School of Excellence winner for 2016-2018. Additionally, his campus was previously awarded the National Excellence in Urban Education Award. Dr. Gay says all of the credit goes to his students, teachers, administrators and community supporters. He feels privileged and honored to serve as the principal of his campus. 


Dr. Gay was recently named Region 7 Outstanding Principal of the Year for the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals (TASSP) 2016-2017. He was also selected as the Texas Principal of the Year 2015-2016 for the Texas Alliance of Black School Educators (TABSE). 


Away from campus he serves our country as a U.S. Army Reserve military officer currently waiting for promotion orders to Lieutenant Colonel. Locally, he serves as the Educational Director of Rose City Civitan, presiding affiliate president of the Tyler Alliance of Black School Educators and Texas Association of Secondary Principals Region 7 Representative. He is also a member of the Texas Higher Education Board Financial Literacy Advisory Committee and Tyler Area Partnership 4 Education.


Congratulations, Dr. Gay, on this achievement! 



Please reload

Please reload

Tyler ISD Communications

Jennifer Hines

Executive Director of Communications and Public Relations

Sandra Stanley.jpg

Sandra Stanley Communications Coordinator

Amy Pawlak.jpg

Amy Pawlak 

Public Relations Coordinator

Lynne Hubbard

Switchboard Operator

Marla Boone

Communications/ Volunteer Assistant

Angela Duitch

Coordinator of TISD-TV & Digital Media

Jessica Poe

Digital Communications Specialist

Jacob Walker

Digital Media and Video Specialist

John Landes

Coordinator of Government Relations

Tracy Varnell

District Mail Clerk

© 2016 Tyler Independent School District