Jones Elementary MST Academy teacher nominated for award

January 19, 2017



Ms. Mary Risinger, second grade teacher at Jones Elementary MST Academy, has been nominated for the Sterling Shining Star of the Year Award.


Sterling Shining Star of the Year is an annual honor program that recognizes and rewards school district educators/employees. Sterling Shining Star Award honors individuals who are making a significant difference in the lives of students.


Finalists and respective school districts will be listed on the Sterling Shining Star website. Two awards will be given in the amount of $10,000 each to be equally shared between the recipient and his/her school district.


Each award winner will be selected based on the following criteria:

  • A proven ability to make a beneficial difference in the lives of students;

  • An ability to positively add to the development of the school’s atmosphere;

  • A leader in his or her activities at the school and/or district level;

  • A proven record of excellent performance at the professional level;

  • A commitment to producing a nurturing atmosphere;

  • Adherence to high moral and ethical standards.


Fellow educators and the community can show support for Ms. Risinger by leaving a positive comment on her profile at or by sharing words of support on social media using #sterlingshiningstar. Comments will be taken into consideration by the Selection Committee.


Award winners will be announced in April 2017.



Please reload

Please reload

Tyler ISD Communications

Jennifer Hines

Executive Director of Communications and Public Relations

Sandra Stanley.jpg

Sandra Stanley Communications Coordinator

Amy Pawlak.jpg

Amy Pawlak 

Public Relations Coordinator

Lynne Hubbard

Switchboard Operator

Marla Boone

Communications/ Volunteer Assistant

Angela Duitch

Coordinator of TISD-TV & Digital Media

Jessica Poe

Digital Communications Specialist

Jacob Walker

Digital Media and Video Specialist

John Landes

Coordinator of Government Relations

Tracy Varnell

District Mail Clerk

© 2016 Tyler Independent School District