Robert E. Lee High School orchestra students receive honors in UIL competition

February 22, 2017


Robert E. Lee Red Raider Orchestra members competed recently in the UIL solo and ensemble contest in Longview returning with 39 first division medals for their efforts. In addition, eight students qualified to perform their memorized solo or ensemble at the state solo contest in Austin in May. 


“Many hours of preparation went into this event and the Red Raider Orchestra received more medals than any other school participating in the event,” Julie Simpson, REL Orchestra teacher, said. “Congratulations to these orchestra members for their hard work.”


FIRST Division Soloists

Philip Cook, Henry Gurrusquieta, Ireland Hamby, Bianca Mondragon


Savannah Hernandez, Max Lewis, Colin Miller, Clara Santana, Brooke Sheffield, Kamal Bains, Ellen Choi


Yessica Espinola, Madelyn Filla, Taniya Jones, Arlene Turcios, Abigail De Los Santos, Beth Routon


Lucy Matthews, Beya Medellin, Chris Kang, Jacob Mackey, Anne Thompson, Amy French


Zachary Boynton, Caleb Morrison, Lluvia Reyes, Caleb Quiballo, Violet Orchard, Santos Perez


Emily Powell, Meghan Romines, Anna Veloso, Wilburto Figueroa, Colby Leathers, Alberto Destarac


Cello Quartet 

Jacob Mackey, Chris Kang, Nathan Bilby and Carlos Villapudua


Students qualifying for the Texas State Solo/Ensemble Contest include:

Ellen Choi, Kamal Bains, Taniya Jones, Jacob Mackey, Chris Kang, Nathan Bilby, Carlos Villapudua and Alberto Destarac


Excellent or Good Rating

Nohely Bustos, Miranda Tapia, Tatyana Williams, Caitlyn Evans, Daniel King


Jackson Sorenson, Gabby Najera, Ryan Peters, Jacob Story, Abigail Price, Ashley Smallwood, Nathan Bilby


Dakota Hill, Saachi Dalal, Sage Sowels



Please reload

Please reload

Tyler ISD Communications

Jennifer Hines

Executive Director of Communications and Public Relations

Sandra Stanley.jpg

Sandra Stanley Communications Coordinator

Amy Pawlak.jpg

Amy Pawlak 

Public Relations Coordinator

Lynne Hubbard

Switchboard Operator

Marla Boone

Communications/ Volunteer Assistant

Angela Duitch

Coordinator of TISD-TV & Digital Media

Jessica Poe

Digital Communications Specialist

Jacob Walker

Digital Media and Video Specialist

John Landes

Coordinator of Government Relations

Tracy Varnell

District Mail Clerk

© 2016 Tyler Independent School District