Board Notes: Trustees celebrate accomplishments of students, staff at April meeting

April 19, 2017


The Tyler ISD Board of Trustees recognized the achievements of students and staff during its regularly scheduled meeting Monday, April17, 2017. The primary focus of the Board Recognition Program is to acknowledge accomplishments of District students, staff, departments and campuses. The above video captures these recognitions.


The Board first recognized the efforts of the two District students of the month for April.  The elementary student of the month is JaRiyah Johnson, a kindergarten student at Andy Woods Elementary School. Mariana Lopez-Pineda, an twelfth grade student at RISE Academy, is the secondary student of the month. 


Also recognized were students from John Tyler High School who recently represented Texas at the 2017 National High School Ethics Bowl in North Carolina. This competition promotes respectful, supportive, and rigorous discussion of ethics among high school students nationwide. Twenty-four schools from across the nation qualified for the 2017 competition held at the University of North Carolina. The following AVID seniors represented John Tyler at the competition: Avoree Oliver, Tamia Williams, Jaela Wideman, and Anadja Jamison. 


April is Volunteer Appreciation Month, and Tyler ISD is thankful for the service of more than 3,050 registered volunteers across the district. Our Raptor system shows the following volunteers as having the most hours logged this schools year: Schwanda Moaning from Bell Elementary with 444 hours; Elicia Eckert from Jack Elementary with 434 hours, and James Hobbs from Jones Elementary with 406 hours logged. Thank you again for all you do for the students and staff at Tyler ISD.


The Tyler ISD April Teacher of the Month is Jennifer Vaughn, art teacher at Dixie Elementary School. Congratualtions, Ms. Vaughn!



Please reload

Please reload

Tyler ISD Communications

Jennifer Hines

Executive Director of Communications and Public Relations

Sandra Stanley.jpg

Sandra Stanley Communications Coordinator

Amy Pawlak.jpg

Amy Pawlak 

Public Relations Coordinator

Lynne Hubbard

Switchboard Operator

Marla Boone

Communications/ Volunteer Assistant

Angela Duitch

Coordinator of TISD-TV & Digital Media

Jessica Poe

Digital Communications Specialist

Jacob Walker

Digital Media and Video Specialist

John Landes

Coordinator of Government Relations

Tracy Varnell

District Mail Clerk

© 2016 Tyler Independent School District