Board Notes: Trustees celebrate accomplishments of students, staff at May meeting

May 18, 2017



The Tyler ISD Board of Trustees recognized the achievements of students and staff during its regularly scheduled meeting Monday, May 15, 2017. The primary focus of the Board Recognition Program is to acknowledge accomplishments of District students, staff, departments and campuses. The above video captures these recognitions.


The Board first recognized the efforts of the two District students of the month for April.  The elementary student of the month is Bryant Mackey, a second grade student at Owens Elementary School. Ryan Cowart, an eighth grade student at Hubbard Middle School, is the secondary student of the month. 


John Tyler High School AVID student Leslie Espiricueta was recognized for beign selected as a 2017 AVID National Summer Institute Speaker for the Dallas National Summer Institute. This is the second time John Tyler High School has had a student selected among more than a thousand submissions.


Also, Tyler ISD and TISD-TV proudly announced the Best of Show winner of the second annual Rising Star Student Film Festival, sponsored by Altice/Suddenlink. The festival showcases and celebrates the creative talents and accomplishments of students in Tyler ISD through the medium of the moving image. Congratulations to the following students for producing “Traveling Light,” an entry in the Story category as this year’s Best of Show Award winner: Jonathan Southern, Robert E. Lee High SchoolMichael Chandler, Robert E. Lee High SchoolRicardo Gomez, John Tyler High SchoolVictor Del Angel, John Tyler High School


Trustees honored The Mentoring Alliance with a Texas Association of School Board (TASB) Stand Up for Texas Public Schools Award for their partnership with Tyler ISD and their commitment to improving our student’s lives. This award is presented to organizations for continuously supporting public schools. 


Last, but certianly not least, Trustees honored the 2017 District Teachers of the Year, Kala Morrow from John Tyler High School and Courtney Heck from Dr. Bryan C. Jack Elementary School. Congratualtions also to the 2017 Rookie of the Year Leah Allen from John Tyler High School. 



Please reload

Please reload

Tyler ISD Communications

Jennifer Hines

Executive Director of Communications and Public Relations

Sandra Stanley.jpg

Sandra Stanley Communications Coordinator

Amy Pawlak.jpg

Amy Pawlak 

Public Relations Coordinator

Lynne Hubbard

Switchboard Operator

Marla Boone

Communications/ Volunteer Assistant

Angela Duitch

Coordinator of TISD-TV & Digital Media

Jessica Poe

Digital Communications Specialist

Jacob Walker

Digital Media and Video Specialist

John Landes

Coordinator of Government Relations

Tracy Varnell

District Mail Clerk

© 2016 Tyler Independent School District