Board Notes: Tyler ISD Board of Trustees celebrate District, campus achievements during September meeting

September 20, 2017


During the regularly scheduled monthly Board of Trustees meeting held on September 18, Trustees recognized the District and 23 campuses for receiving a Met Standard TEA Accountability rating from results of the 2017 STAAR testing period. Tyler ISD continues to see improvement with only two campuses receiving the Improvement Required (IR) rating. In recent years, the District has gone from 11 campuses receiving IR ratings down to nine, then three, and now only two.


Trustees also proudly recognized 12 campuses for earning 25 distinctions for high achievements on the STAAR test. These campuses were each given a plaque to commemorate their achievements.  Campuses earning distinctions are as follows:


Tyler ISD Campus Name - 2017 Distinctions Earned

Robert E. Lee High School - Reading; Social Studies

Hubbard Middle School - Student Progress

Moore MST Magnet School - Math; Science; Social Studies; Student Progress; Postsecondary Readiness

Bell Elementary School - Science; Student Progress

Birdwell Elementary School - Reading; Math; Student Progress

Clarkston Elementary School - Science; Student Progress; Postsecondary Readiness

Owens Elementary School - Student Progress

Jones Elementary School - Student Progress

Peete Elementary School - Science

Ramey Elementary School - Student Progress

Rice Elementary School - Reading; Student Progress

Woods Elementary School - Math; Student Progress; Postsecondary Readiness


Additionally, during the Lone Star Governance update portion of the meeting, Trustees celebrated tremendous accomplishments in advanced academics through impressive increases in enrollment in advanced placement and dual credit courses.

Please reload

Please reload

Tyler ISD Communications

Jennifer Hines

Executive Director of Communications and Public Relations

Sandra Stanley.jpg

Sandra Stanley Communications Coordinator

Amy Pawlak.jpg

Amy Pawlak 

Public Relations Coordinator

Lynne Hubbard

Switchboard Operator

Marla Boone

Communications/ Volunteer Assistant

Angela Duitch

Coordinator of TISD-TV & Digital Media

Jessica Poe

Digital Communications Specialist

Jacob Walker

Digital Media and Video Specialist

John Landes

Coordinator of Government Relations

Tracy Varnell

District Mail Clerk

© 2016 Tyler Independent School District