Robert E. Lee High School senior Cody Olson named National Merit Semifinalist

September 20, 2017


Robert E. Lee High School senior Cody Olson has been named a 2018 National Merit Semifinalist by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC).


“I am ecstatic to be named National Merit Semifinalist,” Cody said. “It's an honor to join this group of extremely ambitious students.”


Cody joins approximately 16,000 students across the nation in receiving Semifinalist honors. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships, worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level. About 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing and about half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.


Cody is a Drum Major for the Robert E. Lee Band, plays trombone for the Jazz Ensemble and holds leadership roles in the National Honor Society and Mu Alpha Theta (mathematics honors organization). Outside of school, Cody enjoys playing video games and listening to music, especially Frank Sinatra and Broadway musicals, he says. After graduation, he hopes to have the opportunity to attend Harvard University to begin his pursuit of a career in medicine.


Please reload

Please reload

Tyler ISD Communications

Jennifer Hines

Executive Director of Communications and Public Relations

Sandra Stanley.jpg

Sandra Stanley Communications Coordinator

Amy Pawlak.jpg

Amy Pawlak 

Public Relations Coordinator

Lynne Hubbard

Switchboard Operator

Marla Boone

Communications/ Volunteer Assistant

Angela Duitch

Coordinator of TISD-TV & Digital Media

Jessica Poe

Digital Communications Specialist

Jacob Walker

Digital Media and Video Specialist

John Landes

Coordinator of Government Relations

Tracy Varnell

District Mail Clerk

© 2016 Tyler Independent School District