Robert E. Lee High School students named National Merit Commended Students

September 22, 2017


Ten seniors from Robert E. Lee High School (REL) have been named 2018 National Merit Commended Students by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), the largest amount from REL thus far to receive the honor.


Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2018 competition by taking the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).


Names of the Commended Students are as follows: Daniel English, Kaleb Hill, Katherine Jennings, Andrew McClintock, Hayden Rasure, Kelly Ring, Meagan Sheffield, Matthew Spellman, Jacob Wilson and Andrew Short (former REL student). The students celebrated in the REL Library with parents, teachers, coaches, and district administrators.


Thirty-four thousand Commended Students across the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships, Commended Students do become candidates for special scholarships sponsored by corporations and businesses.


Last week, REL announced that senior Cody Olson was named National Merit Scholar Semifinalist. He will continue in the competition in hopes of receiving National Merit Scholar Finalist honors.

Please reload

Please reload

Tyler ISD Communications

Jennifer Hines

Executive Director of Communications and Public Relations

Sandra Stanley.jpg

Sandra Stanley Communications Coordinator

Amy Pawlak.jpg

Amy Pawlak 

Public Relations Coordinator

Lynne Hubbard

Switchboard Operator

Marla Boone

Communications/ Volunteer Assistant

Angela Duitch

Coordinator of TISD-TV & Digital Media

Jessica Poe

Digital Communications Specialist

Jacob Walker

Digital Media and Video Specialist

John Landes

Coordinator of Government Relations

Tracy Varnell

District Mail Clerk

© 2016 Tyler Independent School District