Tyler ISD student art pieces selected for display at TASA/TASB annual convention

September 27, 2017


The annual Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) / Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) national convention will be held October 6-8 in Dallas, Texas. Hundreds of school leadership teams, board members and administrators from across the state will gather to learn and share best practices, research, methodology, products and services and more.


Tyler ISD is pleased to announce that six pieces of student artwork from elementary, middle and high school levels have been chosen for display during the conference in the Pre-K – 12th Grade Arts Exhibition presented by the Texas Art Education Association (TAEA).


“We are so proud of these students,” Sandy Newton, Tyler ISD director of performing arts, said. “Artwork is chosen from all over the state and Tyler ISD will be well represented!  This is a wonderful opportunity for our students and our District.”


Students and pieces selected for the art display are:

  • Karrington Simmons, Boulter Middle School – “Hello There! Friends”

  • Jabryn Carston, Clarkston Elementary School – “The Jamboree”

  • Henessie Guerra, Douglas Elementary School – “Express Yourself”

  • Jacob Harper, Douglas Elementary School – “Jasper John’s Alphabet”

  • Julissa Nunez, John Tyler High School – “The Rose”

  • Brianna Metzer, Robert E. Lee High School – “Good Ol Days”


Congratulations, students, on this incredible honor. 

Please reload

Please reload

Tyler ISD Communications

Jennifer Hines

Executive Director of Communications and Public Relations

Sandra Stanley.jpg

Sandra Stanley Communications Coordinator

Amy Pawlak.jpg

Amy Pawlak 

Public Relations Coordinator

Lynne Hubbard

Switchboard Operator

Marla Boone

Communications/ Volunteer Assistant

Angela Duitch

Coordinator of TISD-TV & Digital Media

Jessica Poe

Digital Communications Specialist

Jacob Walker

Digital Media and Video Specialist

John Landes

Coordinator of Government Relations

Tracy Varnell

District Mail Clerk

© 2016 Tyler Independent School District