Board Notes: Tyler ISD Trustees celebrate District, staff, campus achievements during November meeting

November 16, 2017


Tyler ISD Board of Trustees celebrated the accomplishments of District students, staff, and campuses during the regularly scheduled monthly Board of Trustees meeting held November 13.


The District recognized Alexandra Rodriguez, a fifth grade student at Owens Elementary School, as the Elementary Student of the Month and Francisco Uribe, an eighth grade student at the Hogg Middle School, as Secondary Student of the Month. Learn more about these two incredible students by viewing a special video created by TISD-TV, in partnership with CHRISTUS Trinity Mother Frances Hospitals and Clinics, here.


Tyler ISD students Bakari Price and Larrianna Rose Hambrick from John Tyler High School and Ricky Brown from the RISE Academy, along with bus driver Lavonda Mitchell, were honored for their quick action in responding to a fellow student who was experiencing a seizure while on the school bus. These students remained calm and provided exceptional support for the student, allowing Ms. Mitchell to maintain contact with EMS services until they arrived at the scene.

Congratulations to Oscar Rodriguez, a kindergarten teacher at Griffin Elementary School, for being named November’s Teacher of the Month.




In addition, the Board of Trustees heard reports and updates on the District’s Mentoring Alliance partnership; Goal 1 – Early Literacy and Fall 2017 Special Projects. Fall 2017 Special Projects included a presentation of providing a middle school structure that would expand the traditional model of zoned campuses to also provide choice campuses across the District. In doing so, students and families could choose to stay at their neighborhood school or they could choose to attend schools that meet their specific educational goals.



Please reload

Please reload

Tyler ISD Communications

Jennifer Hines

Executive Director of Communications and Public Relations

Sandra Stanley.jpg

Sandra Stanley Communications Coordinator

Amy Pawlak.jpg

Amy Pawlak 

Public Relations Coordinator

Lynne Hubbard

Switchboard Operator

Marla Boone

Communications/ Volunteer Assistant

Angela Duitch

Coordinator of TISD-TV & Digital Media

Jessica Poe

Digital Communications Specialist

Jacob Walker

Digital Media and Video Specialist

John Landes

Coordinator of Government Relations

Tracy Varnell

District Mail Clerk

© 2016 Tyler Independent School District