Tyler ISD Board President Fritz Hager, Jr. completes third session of "Leadership TASB" program

March 19, 2018



Fritz Hager, trustee from Tyler ISD joined 29 other school board members from across Texas February 28–March 3 at the third of five sessions of the Leadership TASB class of 2018. Selected by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB), the group is participating in a yearlong education leadership study program. These trustees represent school districts of all sizes, with student populations of 158 to 98,688, and reflect a similar range of property wealth.

Participants who complete all required elements of the study will graduate this year by earning Master Trustee status. This is the highest designation recognized by TASB.

Meeting in Galveston, the board members began their session by touring Texas City and Galveston ISDs. Featured speakers were Will Richardson, well-known author, educator, and reform leader, and Amy Lynch, a nationally recognized expert on generational differences.

Other Leadership TASB sessions are scheduled for El Paso, April 19–21, and Fort Worth, June 28–30. Each session has a unique theme that builds on the previous session and features nationally recognized experts in the fields of leadership development and education. Teams also work throughout the year on extended learning assignments between meetings. Created in 1993, Leadership TASB has more than 800 graduates to date.

TASB is a voluntary, nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local Texas school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.3 million public school students.


(Source: TASB Press Release)

Please reload

Please reload

Tyler ISD Communications

Jennifer Hines

Executive Director of Communications and Public Relations

Sandra Stanley.jpg

Sandra Stanley Communications Coordinator

Amy Pawlak.jpg

Amy Pawlak 

Public Relations Coordinator

Lynne Hubbard

Switchboard Operator

Marla Boone

Communications/ Volunteer Assistant

Angela Duitch

Coordinator of TISD-TV & Digital Media

Jessica Poe

Digital Communications Specialist

Jacob Walker

Digital Media and Video Specialist

John Landes

Coordinator of Government Relations

Tracy Varnell

District Mail Clerk

© 2016 Tyler Independent School District