‘Sunshine Spot’ at Boshears provides multisensory learning opportunities for students

October 30, 2018


The Wayne D. Boshears Center for Exceptional Programs, in partnership with the Tyler ISD Foundation and the Tejas Lodge Order of the Arrow Wo-Ha-Li Chapter Arrowmen and Troop 369 Scout and Scouters, recently announced the opening of the Sunshine Spot, a multi-sensory outside learning environment specifically made to meet the needs of Boshears students.


Boshears teacher, Shanda Warren, had a vision for an underused portion of the outside playground. A few years ago a musical set and art set was purchased to accompany a large shaded area and climbing wall that was already in place. Ms. Warren’s vision was to create a safe environment where students could participate in enrichment lessons such as musical, gardening, and water activities. 


In addition, and in the center of the Sunshine Spot, is a large sand box built by the Arrowmen and Scouts, under the direction of Chapter Adviser Terry Westmoreland. The group of young men and scout leaders spent a full day at the Boshears Center working together to build a sand box that is surrounded by a bench and has an opening that will allow wheelchairs to push right up to the edge. 


“Thank you to Shanda Warren and her team, the Tyler ISD Foundation, and the Wo-Ha-Li Arrowmen and Troop 369 Scout and Scouters,” Boshears Director Brooke Parker said. “This project would not have been possible without their partnership and support.”



Please reload

Please reload

Tyler ISD Communications

Jennifer Hines

Executive Director of Communications and Public Relations

Sandra Stanley.jpg

Sandra Stanley Communications Coordinator

Amy Pawlak.jpg

Amy Pawlak 

Public Relations Coordinator

Lynne Hubbard

Switchboard Operator

Marla Boone

Communications/ Volunteer Assistant

Angela Duitch

Coordinator of TISD-TV & Digital Media

Jessica Poe

Digital Communications Specialist

Jacob Walker

Digital Media and Video Specialist

John Landes

Coordinator of Government Relations

Tracy Varnell

District Mail Clerk

© 2016 Tyler Independent School District