Meet the Department: Police Department

April 17, 2019


Safety and security of campuses, students and staff is always top priority for the Tyler ISD Police Department. Led by Chief Danny Brown, Tyler ISD PD employs 15 officers and one department administrative assistant. Together, the team brings more than 320 years of experience as police offers, each averaging almost 20 years in law enforcement and 5.5 years in Tyler ISD.


“The most rewarding part of our jobs as Tyler ISD Police Officers is knowing that we are doing our part to keep students and staff safe every day,” Chief Brown said.


Tyler ISD PD follows state law, as well as the recommendation of the Texas School Safety Center, in implementing best practices for campus safety. Functions of the department include: traffic safety; partnering with Tyler PD and other agencies; analyzing social trends that could be harmful, dangerous or disruptive; building positive relationships between School Resource Officers and students; initiating emergency security measures when needed; managing the See Something, Say Something tip line and more!


Fun Facts:

  • Tyler ISD PD responds to an average of 800-1,000 calls for service each year;

  • Officers are licensed through the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement and must complete 40 hours of training each year to maintain their certification;

  • Campus/Building Lockdowns or other access controls can be controlled from the Tyler ISD PD offices instantaneously to ensure security in times of emergency.


Tyler ISD Police Department:

Chief Danny Brown

Tammy Stewart, Administrative Assistant


Ben Boyd

Clifton Hunter

Michael Cioni

Charles Statham

Drew Whitfield

Tamishea Shewmake

Darryl Johnson

Jeff Arnold

Renwick Ballinger

Carolyn Brown

Autumn Blair

Cory Hoover

Jason Newport

Jeremy Hill

Bruce Fowler

Please reload

Please reload

Tyler ISD Communications

Jennifer Hines

Executive Director of Communications and Public Relations

Sandra Stanley.jpg

Sandra Stanley Communications Coordinator

Amy Pawlak.jpg

Amy Pawlak 

Public Relations Coordinator

Lynne Hubbard

Switchboard Operator

Marla Boone

Communications/ Volunteer Assistant

Angela Duitch

Coordinator of TISD-TV & Digital Media

Jessica Poe

Digital Communications Specialist

Jacob Walker

Digital Media and Video Specialist

John Landes

Coordinator of Government Relations

Tracy Varnell

District Mail Clerk

© 2016 Tyler Independent School District